I wish I had cancer


AMEN!!!!!!! THIS POST IS SO AMAZING AND TRUE THANK YOU FOR YOUR COURAGE TO SAY SOMETHING!

Summer Solstice Musings

Yeah, you heard it right.

I know that I’m gonna get a lot of angry cancer patients on my case, thinking I’m mocking them.  However, I am not.

While I’ve had been thinking of it it for quite a while, only until very recently I finally said it to someone other than myself, on a DM.

And I stand by it.

You see, I have an illness.  But it’s a mental one.  I look good on the outside.  I haven’t lost ridiculous amounts of weight.  I still have all my hair. I have a good colour.  I don’t look like I’m ready to take my boat ride across the River Styx. Only that I am.  And I’ve been there several times.

But Mental illnesses don’t get the sympathy or empathy from society that cancer does.  Or Cystic Fibrosis.  Or Muscular Dystrophy.  Or any other of those “legitimate” illnesses.

People…

View original post 486 more words

Posted on April 19, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you so much! I’m honoured.

    It took me years to be able to say it out loud. I thought no one would like me if they knew. That’s the tragedy of the stigma. Any kind of stigma.

    Now, I try to talk about it as much as I can so people realize how difficult it is for those of us dealing with mental illnesses.

Leave a Reply

